Carbon Neutral Kootenays

Year One of a multi-year effort to make regional districts, participating municipalities and First Nations carbon neutral by 2012 is underway. Year One work includes development of action plans for each regional district, and an action plan template for each municipality and First Nation that will help guide their efforts to reduce emissions.

An approach to mitigation - reducing greenhouse gas emissions - at this level and scale is unique, as it covers 29 Kootenay municipalities, five First Nation communities and three regional districts. This collaborative approach will provide substantial benefits to a range of communities including small, rural communities and electoral areas with limited resources.

6 8 7
Columbia Basin Trust